Advisor to the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Dr. Majed bin Mohammed Al Ansari underlined that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs welcomed the ratification made by the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) of the European Parliament Thursday to exempt the citizens of the State of Qatar from the entry visa to Schengen countries without conditions.

In a statement to Qatar News Agency (QNA), Dr. Al Ansari indicated that the ratification of the exemption came as a result of the constant efforts made by the State of Qatar's mission to European Union and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to ensure its unfettered passage, expressing the State of Qatar's happiness for the ratification of the exemption with the majority of 42 votes in LIBE.

He noted that LIBE's approval for the exemption included that it does not need to be presented in general deliberations session of the European Parliament, in order to be a final approval from the European Parliament.

He clarified that the next step includes the start of deliberations in a tripartite commission representing the Council of the European Union, the Commission and the Parliament to formulate the text of the Schengen visa exemption agreement between the State of Qatar and European Union in preparation for its signature and implementation by the two parties, indicating that it is difficult to set a time limit for these steps, however, the thing that can be confirmed is that the essential steps have been completed.

In his statement to QNA, the Spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that the ministry's follow-up to all stages of the issuance of the exemption underscores its keenness to overcome the difficulties faced by the Qatari citizens and expedite their travel procedures abroad, emphasizing that the ministry will spare no effort to sign further agreements that put the Qatari passport among the most powerful international passports in commensurate with the global and diplomatic position of the country.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs